About WRLC

The Wellington Regional Leadership Committee (WRLC)is a collaborative partnership designed to positively shape future growth in the Wellington-Wairarapa-Horowhenua region. The partnership demonstrates how we are stronger together; meeting our region’s shared challenges head on and making a positive impact on issues of housing, transport, iwi/Māori housing, and climate change, resilience and economic development.

Who are we?

He waka eke noa We are all in this together

We are a unified voice at regional leadership level, bringing together local government, central government, iwi and mana whenua, to achieve better outcomes for the communities we serve. The WRLC is all about taking collective responsibility for our shared challenges.

WRLC Objectives

The objectives of the Wellington regional leadership committee are to:

  • Unite the regions local government, central government and iwi leaders in a new collaborative way of working together, embedding collective responsibility for cross-boundary, growth-related issues
  • Approve, activate and monitor projects under the WRLC’s work programme which covers the three interdependent areas of the Wellington Regional Growth Framework, regional economic development and economic recovery.
  • Look for opportunities to bring alignment, integration and efficiency to areas of duplicated effort, to maximise benefits to communities
  • Support and implement a shift to a collective decision-making approach
  • Leverage and maximise regional connections
  • Create a platform for one regional voice, to bring cohesion to the region and enhance opportunities for Central Government funding.

Leadership Committee


Darrin Apanui

Deputy Chair

Daran Ponter

Local Authority Members

Porirua City Council

Mayor Anita Baker

South Wairarapa District Council

Mayor Martin Connelly

Kāpiti Coast District Council

Mayor Janet Holborow

Carterton District Council

Mayor Ron Mark

Greater Wellington Regional Council

Councillor Daran Ponter

Hutt City Council

Mayor Campbell Barry

Wellington City Council

Mayor Tory Whanau

Upper Hutt District Council

Mayor Wayne Guppy

Masterton District Council

Mayor Gary Caffell

Horowhenua District Council

Mayor Bernie Wanden

Minister of The Crown


Mana Whenua Members

Rangitāne Tū Mai Rā Trust

Darrin Apanui

Te Rūnanga o Toa Rangatira Inc

Helmut Modlik

Port Nicholson Block Settlement Trust

Huia Puketapu

Muaūpoko Tribal Authority Inc

Di Rump

Te Rūnanga o Raukawa

Denise Hapeta


Marama Fox

Our Team

Programme Director

Kim Kelly

Communications & Engagement Advisor

Freda Wells

Programme Manager

Allen Yip

Programme Co-ordinator

Qurat Mahmood

Our Partners